close global

Welcome to GPFans


  • NL
  • GB
  • ES-MX
  • GB

Williams Racing


One of F1's most successful teams, Williams has gone through some difficult times in the modern era.

From close-fought battles with Ferrari and McLaren through the 1980s, 1990s and 2000s, Williams has collected nine constructors' championships, seven drivers' titles, 114 race victories and 313 podiums since the team's first entry in 1977.

From Piquet to Mansell, Prost to Senna and Hill to Villeneuve, during a time where the Williams was the car to drive some of the best drivers in F1's history have passed through the outfit created by Sir Frank Williams and his family. The last true independent team? Hopefully, new ownership can propel Williams back to the top.

Jones and Rosberg - 1977-1984

Williams began life as a team in 1977 with a March chassis and a single entry at the hands of Belgian Patrick Neve. A best finish of seventh wasn't enough to claim points but provided enthusiasm for the future.

The first Williams-built chassis arrived in 1978 with Australian Alan Jones claiming the first podium for the team at Watkins Glen. Joined the following season by Clay Regazzoni, wins soon came.

The Swiss driver took the maiden victory at Silverstone before Jones won four of the last six races of the season as Williams finished second in the constructors' championship.

1980 would take both Jones and the team one step further. Five victories for Jones took him to the drivers' title, whilst the help of Carlos Reutemann propelled the team to the first of its teams' triumphs.

The same pairing delivered another constrcutors' crown in 1981 before fortunes turned in 1982. Derek Daly would take over the second seat after four races and finish with a best result of fifth, whilst Keke Rosberg would win just once. Whilst the team finished fourth in the teams' standings, Rosberg would remarkably capitalise on his consistency to become world champion.

1983 and 1984 would prove difficult as retirements marring the beginning of the Williams-Honda marriage, with Rosberg winning just twice more for the team across the two seasons. Times would change soon enough...

Mansell, Piquet, Prost, Hill, Senna and Villeneuve - 1985-1997

Nigel Mansell joined Rosberg for 1985 as fortunes switched back the way of the beginning of the decade. Third in the championship and four wins shared equally by the drivers as form returned to a Williams team.

When former world champion Nelson Piquet joined Mansell for 1986, one of the best intra-team rivalries in F1 history. Across two seasons the duo would share 18 victories whilst Piquet would win the title in 1987 along with the team winning the constructors' in both years. Mansell was only denied by his infamous tyre blowout in Adelaide the year previous.

Between 1988 and 1991 Mansell and Piquet would both leave the team, with Riccardo Patrese and Thierry Boutsen picking up the scraps left by McLaren and Ferrari in between.

When the British driver rejoined in 1991, Williams returned to the runner-up position as consistent frontrunning returned.

The team became the dominant force over the next three years, with Mansell finally avenging his 1986 heartbreak with nine victories on his way to becoming 1992 champion. The team won three constructors titles in a row, with Alain Prost taking his final championship triumph with the team a year later.

1994 was the toughest in the team's history. The championship triumph paled in comparison to the loss of Ayrton Senna in his third race with the team in San Marino. Damon Hill, son of the legendary Graham, took on Senna's mantle as team leader and battled Benetton's Michael Schumacher to the very end in Australia.

A collision between the two controversially handed Schumacher the title, but Hill would gain revenge in 1996. Williams dominated with Jacques Villeneuve challenging Hill after making the move from CART in the USA.

12 race wins between them would hand Williams an easy title, but Hill would ensure he would become part of the only father-son world champion pairing at the time.

Villeneuve would get his shot at glory in 1997, although controversy between Schumacher and a Williams driver would again take place in the season finale. This time it was the Ferrari that came off worse and Villeneuve took his one and only title.

Schumacher and Montoya - 1998-Present

That would be the last time Williams would win either title, although it has not been for a lack of trying. After a few shallow seasons, Ralf Schumacher and Juan Pablo Montoya, as well as BMW backing, would push Williams back up the order, finishing second in 2002 and 2003 with victories and podiums aplenty.

But a steady decline throughout the 21st century has seen the once-great team struggle severely. The last victory for the team came at the hands of Pastor Maldonado in 2012 and whilst a small resurgence with the help of Mercedes engines at the beginning of the turbo-hybrid era in 2014 as Felipe Massa and Valtteri Bottas challenged Mercedes.

After struggling in recent times, scoring only one points finish since the start of 2019. George Russell and Nicholas Latifi secured points on multiple occasions in 2021 to bring hope that fortunes can continue to change whilst a change of ownership in 2020 has provided much-needed funds.

The Williams family may not be involved anymore, but their legacy would continue with the team.

GBGreat britain
Team Boss:
James Vowles
Technical chief:
full name:
Williams Racing
Cr Williams

F1 Standings

Driver Standings

Full Drivers

Constructors Standings

Full Constructors